Car Accident Statistics
On average, there are about 6 million car accidents on American roads every year. These accidents can range from minor fender benders to crashes with serious injury and property damage, and even death. In this stressful time, knowing what to do in the immediate aftermath of a crash can help those in need of medical care, but also help preserve your legal rights in the event that the accident was not your fault. Here’s what you need to do after being involved in a car accident.
Check Drivers and Passengers For Injuries
Right after a car wreck, it is important to check on all persons involved to make sure they are not seriously hurt. If someone needs immediate medical attention, call emergency services right away. Doing this can sometimes mean the difference between life and death. If you’re not sure, don’t hesitate to call. Medical professionals can take over from there.
Call The Cops
There are some instances like a fender bender when you’re not sure if you should call the police, or just exchange insurance information and be on your way. According to New Jersey law, you are legally obligated to call the police if the injury results in death or over $500 of property damage. The easiest way to report an accident is of course to call immediately on your cell phone, but if circumstances don’t allow for that you have 10 days to head to the police station and filed a report in person.
Gather All Relevant Information
Next, you’ll want to talk to the other driver to gather important evidence like names, addresses, phone numbers, and insurance information. Use your cell phone to take damage of the vehicle and any injuries for evidentiary purposes. Don’t say anything else to the other driver in case they try to use your words against in a personal injury suit. Only talk to the police.
Contact Your Insurance Firm
The next step is to contact your insurance company to notify them that you’ve been in an accident. Although this is not required by law, many companies do require that you do so promptly, or they may deny you benefits. Like other states, New Jersey has “no-fault” insurance which means that the company will pay for damages, no matter who is at fault for the accident. If you are not at fault for the accident, you will file your claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company to pay for any medical bills and vehicle damage. This may take a little longer than filing with your own insurance, as the other company will do an investigation to verify that the other driver was indeed at fault.
Contact A Lawyer
If the other insurance company does not find fault with their driver and refuses to pay, it’s time to contact a personal injury attorney. They will then go after the insurance companies, gather evidence to support your claim, and either negotiation a settlement or file a personal injury suit to get the damages you deserve.
Contact A New Jersey Personal Injury Lawyer to Discuss Your Car Crash Case Today!
Did you or a loved one sustain serious injuries due to a car wreck in NJ? Don’t let the medical bills pile up while you wait for the negligent party or their insurance company to do the right thing. Right now, you need an aggressive personal injury attorney on your side, fighting to get you the compensation you need, want, and deserve. The skilled attorneys at Silverman & Roedel, LLC represent clients injured because in car wrecks in Paterson, Wayne, Newark, East Orange, Hackensack, Garfield, and everywhere else in New Jersey. Call (973) 772-6411 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 1187 Main Avenue Suite 2C, Clifton, NJ 07011.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.